New Beginnings!!

Hi everyone! So I know its been forever since I’ve written and its totally all my fault.  I guess life just kinda got crazy for a while there.  Well first and foremost I GRADUATED FROM BROWN!!! YAY!  It was amazing but also incredibly bittersweet.  I was really sad to have to say goodbye to my friends, my Brown acting experience and just generally the place I had called home for 4 years.

After graduating I moved back to Kenya and quite honestly didn’t really do much.  I sent out a couple of emails to theater companies and that was pretty much it.  However I do think i’ve made some great strides recently.

Firstly I had an interview with one of the top talent agencies in East Africa, Surazuri Model and Casting Agency, and was lucky enough to be signed and put on their books (I saw my face on their online books today for the first time.  Out of 10 I give the photo a 6 though (http://www.surazurimodels.com/docs/d.php?id=1492)

Then a little more than a month ago I participated in the Actors Monologue Challenge which is as it sounds, a monologue competition.  I performed a monologue from A Raisin In The Sun and to be honest I WAS NOT PREPARED AT ALL!!!!! I was literally trying to fully memorize it on the day of the performance.  Its funny cuz I had this attitude that there was no way anyone in Kenya was anywhere near as talented as me.  I felt like Kenyan standards were so low I didn’t even need to work for it.  WOW WAS I WRONG!!!!!  I got to meet and admire AMAZING actors doing amazing work.  Most particularly was the eventual winner Brian Ogola who gave an amazing performance and who just has incredible natural talent.  I didn’t place in the competition but it was so exciting to be around so many people who where passionate about what I’m passionate about.

After that was a quite month of driving lessons then about 2 weeks ago I went for an audition for a TV show to play a bar owner woman.  After a LONG honestly unnecessary 3 hour wait, I auditioned my 1 minute script and left. I ‘m pretty sure I wont be hearing from them about that role (I think they were looking for someone older) but all the same is was a good learning experience.

Then came yesterday.  I had the amazing opportunity to audition for the Phoenix Players who are the best theater company in East Africa.  It was really fun and everyone was so easy going that it ended up being pretty effortless.  They made me dance Mande which was somewhat humiliating but hey I GOT IN!!!!  I can’t wait to get started on the first play they cast me in.

Lastly I’ve embarked on a great new adventure.  In line with some great advice I recently heard ‘no matter what is happening in life CREATE GOOD ART’ I have decided to create my very own SOLO SHOW and debut it in the next 6 months.  I have a great idea as to what the topic will be (hint: color) but as for everything else such as how to WRITE a solo show, I’m gonna figure out as I go.

Needless to say, life is getting back on track and I’m once again EXCITED for the FUTURE!!!!

Hello my name is Melissa Muks and I’m a effing incredible actress!!!

Leave a comment